DOM Faculty & Resident Teaching and Mentoring Awards

From the Medical Student Achievement Awards

December 11, 2023



Resident Awards

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Resident Teaching Award

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation, a private non-profit organization, is dedicated to the promotion of humanism in the practice of medicine. Selected by the graduating class, these residents have served as positive role models in their humanistic approach to patients.

Kavya Bana, MD – MP PGY1

- Jean Lafontant, MD IM PGY2
- Seif Nasir, MD IM PGY2



Faculty Awards

Commendations for Second Year Teaching

- Adam Bracken, MD Hospital Medicine
- Erika Drury, MD Nephrology

The Herbert W. Mapstone Prize for Excellence in Second Year Teaching

Established in 1981 by the Mapstone family, this prize is awarded by the second-year class to recognize members of the faculty for excellence in second year teaching.

Christine Hay, MD – Infectious Diseases



Faculty Awards

Commendations for Third Year Teaching

Joseph Nicholas, MD, MPH – Highland Hospital

The Harry L. Segal Prize for Excellence in Third Year Teaching

This prize was established in 1987 to honor Dr. Segal who was a nationally known gastroenterologist and Professor Emeritus at the University of Rochester. It is awarded each year by the third year class to a faculty member for excellence in third year teaching.

David Staudt, MD – Hospital Medicine



